News Report at 10

It was 10 p.m. on a weeknight, and like every night, he turned on the TV to hear the local news. He brought with him a bowl of cereal and sat on the couch to listen attentively to the anchorman give the news. 

There had been a car accident on the freeway. They showed a video of a guy passing down a joint to a child. Bad news, bad news again. He had hoped that at least for that night, good news would make some headlines.

Just before he was about to turn off the TV, they showed a story about a man that committed suicide because depression had gotten the best out of him. The testimonies claimed the victim did not show any signs of him wanting to end with his life. Apparently, he was a normal guy that lived alone, had a decent job, family lived out-of-state, had close friends, and a girlfriend for years.

The report left him thinking about what might’ve gone wrong in the guy’s life. He couldn’t help but see a connection between the two, after all, he was a “normal” guy as well. He tried to think hard about what could’ve been the guy’s motives, but came up with none, which led him into questioning himself.

If I die tonight before the next sunrise, will everyone I encountered throughout my life have a positive thing to say about me? Will my family remember my birthday every year after I die? What impact will my passing away have on all those around me? Most importantly, will she always hold me close to her heart? 

After minutes of trying to come up with the answers to those questions, he decided to make a vow to himself. He vowed to ask for help if there ever came a time in his life where all he could see was a dead-end in his life. With that, he finished the leftover milk in the bowl, turned off the TV, and headed to bed.

43 comments

    • Hehe, thank you for reading!! πŸ˜ƒ
      When you say “what’s to stop him” do you mean that even though he vowed to ask for help, when the time comes, he may not do it at all? I strongly believe that could be the case. I believe that there’s many people, myself included, that have vowed to myself to do one thing but when time came to face whatever that was, I’ve decided to break the vow.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much! That’s exactly the point that I wanted to make. We may plan things to go a certain way and think that they eventually will, but we really don’t have total control over such things. Circumstances could possibly change and we have to hope for the best but be aware of that.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m glad I was able to see that in your post. I have always disliked happy endings, why? Because they are unrealistic. A happy ending to this story would have been him taking his word not commiting the act. Whereas a realistic ending would him being able to face the choice of commiting the act by keeping his word or actually committing it. That’s actual truth.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I somehow believe that making a story more realistic and relatable is not giving every single one of them a happy ending. Happy ending stories do have pros, but unresolved endings for me sound more “humanized”.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly! As much as I hated the way The Great Gatsby ended. It was sad and shocking, but in a sense it was beautiful. Nothing is ever the same after has story is ended. Like you stated, this ending is more humanized

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yesss! I know what you mean, I never liked the ending of the Great Gatsby either! It was really sad, but don’t know if I would’ve been satisfied with him getting everything he always wanted and more handed to him freely.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m glad you feel the same way! Lol. A satisfying ending will never makes me feel better. I am always left with feeling of “So what?” I want to know more. A realistic ending gives a type of closure. Hard to describe.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hehe, I know what you mean! Oh no, don’t even get me started on horror movies with happy endings! I’ve seen movies that convince me throughout the whole movie but the end, sich as “Poltergeist”, “The Conjuring 2”, etc., the ending just takes away points for me automatically.

        Like

      • Omg!! Yes I know another horror movie fan! Those are hard to come by. That is my favorite movie genre. I have seen them all. The classics mainly stray from a happy ending, it’s the newer ones that have a problem with wanting to please people. Poletgiest had kind of a “cliffhanger” ending. Which explains why there were sequels. My favorite horror movie ending is Freddy vs. Jason.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Horror movie fan here as well! πŸ™‹
        I feel so as well, I really enjoy watching the classics more when Halloween time comes around. I don’t think I have a favorite horror movie ending, but for me, in order to be a good ending, most of the cast needs to have been killed of or wounded. There must’ve been a loss throughout the story in order to win credibility that it’s a real horror movie even if a couple of the protagonists survive.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yasss!!! My life is complete. I am an avid watcher that a friend I always critique endings. He goes to me for suggestions. I know the best obscure ones. Ones with endings that you never would have guessed as well as ones that have never been done before. A good classic horror movie kills the “slut” first, the brains, the atheltic type, the idiot and the quiet one is always last, which is referred to as the final girl. Halloween time is when I thrive! Horror movies galore.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha yes! πŸ˜‚
        Many, many horror movies follow that guideline. I’m also always the one my brother and others come for suggestions for good horror movies. I really can’t wait for October to come! 😁😁

        Liked by 1 person

      • Whenever I stay at my friend’s house we spend hours looking through netflix to find a good movies to watch and we rarely find something that we enjoy watching, most of the time we end up watching something on a random website. πŸ˜…

        Liked by 1 person

      • I love The Den!!! I even have it on my computer! Showed it to my boyfriend a couple of weeks ago and he loved it as well! πŸ˜€
        I have not heard many people talking about it, but it really is an underrated movie! The other ones, I believe I have not heard of them but will definitely check them out! I did watch Christie on Netflix and like it a lot as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Omg! I glad you have heard of the Den! It is highly underrated. Unfriended (the movie that just came out a year ago was like it) is the same concept, but better. Tbe unknown ones are the best because they aren’t trying too hard. You must also see The Collection. Found it on accident and loved it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Unfriended was not of my liking at all, don’t understand how The Den didn’t get that much attention. Maybe it was due to budget and lack of publicity, but it’s one of the movies that touches on contemporary times with the internet and hazards. I’ll be looking for the trailer of that one! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s what I have always enjoyed about them. People expect too much from known actors which is why many if the movies, such as horror movies, that they are in are given a bad reputation. People expect too much from them

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, also the thing about putting known actors, for me, takes some excitement out of the story. I had a conversation about this with another blogger a couple of days ago and we agreed that known actors don’t always work in horror films because the audience won’t buy the story.

        Liked by 1 person

      • You are exactly right! It’s hard to make it in the horror industry as an actor. You have to start in the industry , can’t just jump into it. Horror movies are a genre that is almost a staple. Jamie Lee Curtis is started as a horror movie actress but has branched out to other genres.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly! Horror is a completely different genre. Hehe, I just finished watching Halloween 20 with Jamie Lee Curtis, and it’s true, I hadn’t really thought about it! Her breakthrough definitely was in horror movies and then went on to perform on different genres.

        Like

      • Fun Fact! The reason why Scream Queens even exists is because of her. Ryan Murphy was impressed with her in scream and wanted her for the role in Scream Queens. He said if she wasn’t on board, there wouldn’t be a show. Halloween is undeniably a great franchise, one of the best slashes films.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

