I Love My Thighs

Whether they are slim, average, thick, or any other size in the grand and wide scale: I love my thighs. What’s not to love about them?

From early stages of life to maybe even 5 minutes ago, body proportions have stalked and keep stalking this body. A feeling that comes and goes, sort of like a ghost.

Like many things, this “ghost” can be hard to overcome, yet, on some other days it cannot even be sensed. A feeling of empowerment grows in me when I have a couple of minutes in front of the mirror and I can actually admire even the smallest detail of my body. Yes, I have those days, and I think they’re the best!

Why not love your breasts, belly, waist, hips, derrière and thighs? Of course there’s many more parts of your body to admire and appreciate, but from my years of being exposed to body-shaming comments, these are among the main targets, at least nowadays.

The bottom line of all this is: women come in all colors, shapes, and sizes. Curves and lines, scars and beauty marks in certain places make each and every body unique, and unique is the beauty of it.

I’ve learned to love my thighs and currently in the ongoing process of not only admiring, but loving every single part of this body that makes me so unique. Is it tough? Yes, it is a bit tough, but I owe it to myself.

Celebrate and admire your whole self!

 

**This content appeared first on My Trending Stories the past August 6th by yours truly!

21 comments

  1. Indeed you are a wise woman. At 53, I’ve come to love my body, flaws and all. Some days are still better than others, but I don’t mind that my hair is graying or I have lines around my eyes. Those things add wisdom and character. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • I really hope I am able to reach that point one day. It’s really hard for me to overcome self-criticism sometimes, but there’s always something positive to look at. Like you mentioned, and I agree with you completely, some days are still better than others. Really happy to hear that you’ve reached a point where you are able to love and admire who you are and be comfortable in your own skin. Thank you for reading, Marple Mary 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes!!!! That’s exactly what I’ve learned, there’s always the “not enough” factor in everyone’s mind. I think we would all be much better people if we learned to accept others for who they are instead of attacking their self-esteem with the “trendy” ideas that in the end that’s all they are, a trend.

      Like

    • I agree with you, social media, overall, has come to affect the way we perceive a beautiful or attractive person. The thing many don’t understand is that things as such are only trends, and not healthy ones. Thank you for reading and your thoughtful comment! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, how come? I have to be honest, I know how that feels because that is the way I’ve always felt about my arms, but I just think it’s time for me to try to do something about it. It’s extremely hard to accept and learn to appreciate/love something that to you is clearly a flaw, but I just think I would potentially give me more confidence on who I am. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. For a lifetime I always had someone saying things to try and make me feel small, feel less about myself. And, for the most part, it worked. I hid my insecurities and feelings of un-beautiful behind a hearty facade. But the demons of despair were always whispering in my ear. Telling me I wasn’t good enough, pretty enough, thin enough. Oh, that last one…The demons had so much to work with. Every magazine, every TV show, every social media outlet, they were it’s ally. Destroying my self-confidence. When my second marriage failed after he cheated on me, I knew I could not get any lower. I allowed my grief room to breath and then I chased it away. I started to discover who I was and what I wanted. My eldest daughter was a saving grace in this as she has always been my biggest cheerleader in life. Eventually I grew to accept that I am a good, kind, decent, funny, caring human being. And that is enough. I don’t have to be everyone’s idea of beautiful. I just have to be mine. Once I discovered this, I met my soulmate and we married. I am still a big girl and I still have moments where the demon tries to whisper anxiety in my ear but all I have to do is look at my love and I see in his eyes that I am his world and he wouldn’t change a thing about me. To be totally accepted and loved for who you are is the most beautiful thing in the world.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, thank you so much for sharing this. I was really glad to read that after those dark times light and positivity came your way. It is really good to find out that you were able to not only find someone who values and loves you for who you are, but that your perspective has changed.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on The Entertainment Patrol (and general musings) and commented:
    This year, I am definitely going to champion body positivity and the acceptance of oneself. This blog post is brilliant for that. Outward beauty is so relative and subjective that striving for one thing will never please everyone. There is no right shape. Be proud of who you are. Forget this idea of “thunder thighs”. Inner beauty is far more terrifying anyway. I mean…Kanye…woof!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

