Life Choices

Choices and actions that seem to only go either left or right, right? At least that is what the voices of others tell me when conversation seems to just go one way or another:

“Be simple. Be kind. 

Be fun. Be wild, outrageous, and don’t mind others.

Like this right here. 

No, like that instead, it’s much better.

Try it, you’ll love it. 

I wouldn’t do that if I were you.

Dump him! 

He’s a nice guy, don’t hurt him.

Do it! 

Don’t do it, you’ll regret it.

Think about it. 

Come on, just do it!

Follow your dreams and passions. Study the career that really interests you. 

Think about what suits best your future first. You can never go wrong with that.”

Those are the all the voices that surround me. Instead of serving as a guide, they all confuse my journey and actions. There’s nights where thoughts flood my mind and  interrupt my peace. Doubts fire straight at me, at my plans, and at my hopes. My dreams get cracked into pieces, and the small steps I’ve taken seem insignificant.

Then, on desperate times, this sweet and tender voice calms those hostile judgements of mine.

So, thank you, but no. Focus on you.

I’ll be who I want to be and decide what I want to really do. I appreciate the gesture, but I believe that my thoughts, alone, are more than enough to try and work on handling them. Sometimes the road can lead other ways besides left or right, and it is up to me to decided what direction to take. I know I’m still in progress of becoming, but people should know I’m not the best at following directions.

 

**This content appeared first on My Trending Stories the past August 9th, by yours truly.

 

18 comments

  1. I love this post. I think you did a fantastic job of expressing your frustration in words. I can totally relate to being pulled in all different directions by doubts and thoughts whether they be negative or positive. Just gotta keep pushing on and tell yourself “You got this!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

