Coping With Anxiety & Stress

This is something that I have dealt with for quite some time and felt the best way to cope with my anxiety and stress altogether was to take or do one thing at a time and try to maintain positive. Although this philosophy has helped me heaps, I admit that it is not always the best solution. Along those highs and lows, I’ve discovered that there are other ways in which I have been able to cope with my anxiety at a much effective level. I must point out that primarily, my issues are cognitive and behavioral rather than physical.

Exercise

Just very recently I found myself at the moment where I was not feeling myself and out of place which, for me, usually is the start of it all before it escalates. As my whole being was not at its best, going for a run and working out, which is something I routinely do several times a week, was something I despised thinking of doing at some point that day.

Normally, something in me sparks when I exercise. I release most of my “negative energy”, I tend to see it and refer to it as negative energy, when I am pushing myself hard towards something and placing all my being into achieving my goal, which in this case is finishing my workout sore and tired. Exercising improves my state by helping me relax, see things different once I’ve had time to process and improve that energy.

Taking a “Time Out”

For me this consists of a variation of things that help me temporarily disconnect. Music in both, Spanish or English, at a high volume and headphones have aided me countless times. Although I don’t think I depend on music, I do believe it gives me a sense of belonging and peace.

Stepping out of what I’m facing at a certain moment, sometimes happens when I turn on YouTube and listen to videos of some of the accounts I am subscribed to. Even taking a regular shower stimulates positive and creative thoughts for me, which helps ease whatever I have been feeling prior.

Stepping down from my blog was something I strategically did for this same reason. I believed taking a time out from blogging and social media was a good idea, and it somewhat help. I say somewhat because although it kept me away from being on someone else’s business, not writing much affected me negatively.

Others

Fortunately, for as long as I can remember, I have always been an open person and tend to share an extent of things with my closed ones. Even though at a precise moment where I’m at a bad place it is unlikely that I will reach out to someone as my first method do deal with everything, once I have exercised or taken a time out, I do reach out to someone close to me and open up. Being able to have people close to us that we can trust and rely is so precious and rewarding.

Of course there are various methods aside from these ones that can help cope with anxiety and stress. Everyone is different and everyone has their select methods that help them cope with this. What works for me may not work for you or someone you know that is dealing with anxiety and/or stress. The image below is from the Anxiety and Depression Association of America, which gives some tips that could be very useful to help manage anxiety and stress.

How do you or a loved one cope with this issue?

 

https://www.adaa.org/tips-manage-anxiety-and-stress
Image courtesy from the Anxiety and Depression Association of America (ADAA) http://www.adaa.org

 

11 comments

    • I know what you mean! Normally I love exercising but when I am dealing with a lot, it takes a lot of effort to get me started. Exercise has great benefits, and any type of exercise that helps and works for you is beyond acceptable. I have never tried yoga, but apart from exercising, I’ve heard it’s a good way of meditation.
      Thank you for sharing, Elizabeth. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey I’m vishal from south africa I’m also currently dealing with anxiety disorder and depression. I am currently and therapy it does help but the real work is everyday to day living. Being overwhelmed, worrying for no more, fretting feels like I’m going out of my mind. Lately I’ve been exercising and doing meditation via headspace app which do help but still have those days. Yeah social media is also a big no no I try to use it as little as possible. Sometimes I feel I just want to wake up and be all better but its not the case. Everyday is a battle and the things you mention in this post I think exercising is a big key especially if its constant. Sorry I think I kinda over shared. Just had to share my thoughts with someone who is going through what I am. 😀

        Like

      • Hello Vishal,
        No problem at all, thank you for taking the time to share your story. I have never tried meditation and tend to follow the exercise path, but people that I’ve spoken to and have replied to this post agree that meditation does help them a lot.
        It is a tough circumstance to constantly be in, as there are highs and a number of lows. I am glad to hear that you are looking for alternatives to help aid with it. I stepped away from social media for months, I’m getting back to it but have modified the way I use it, what I put my attention to and what I need to walk away from, and the time I spend on social media apps.
        I have to agree, setting time for exercise and being constant with it helps immensely, any exercise that you enjoy doing will serve its purpose.

        Like

  1. This was a great read, some really helpful advice! I tend to throw myself in to project if stress and anxiety are getting too much. If something can occupy all my attention I find that I am less stressed and anxious about things; it also makes me feel as though I’ve accomplished something ☺x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing your go-to method for dealing with these issues. Personally I have never tried to do this because I think I mentally drown and block myself, but I think if I tried it, it could be helpful. And I think you have all the rights to feel like you have accomplished something since it can be very difficult to be creative and productive at times where there is just so much stress and/or anxiety on a person. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My pleasure always helps reading and learning from other going what you are going through and wish u all the best. We have a battle to face at least we know we not alone and we will get through this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

